Get a Quote

CMMC and NIST 800-171

What is CMMC

United States Department of Defense (DoD) introduced Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) in order to measure the cybersecurity readiness of their contractors. The program unifies standards for the implementation of cybersecurity across the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) and measures the capabilities, readiness, and sophistication of defense contractors in the area of cybersecurity.

There are five different maturity levels of CMMC:

  • CMMC Level 1 (Basic Cyber Hygiene)
  • CMMC Level 2 (Intermediate Cyber Hygiene)
  • CMMC Level 3 (Good Cyber Hygiene)
  • CMMC Level 4 (Proactive)
  • CMMC Level 5 (Advanced/ Proactive)

What is NIST SP 800-171

NIST SP 800-171 refers to National Institute of Standards and Technology Special Publication 800-171, which governs Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) in organizations. It is essentially a set of standards that define how to safeguard and distribute material deemed sensitive but not classified.

What is the relationship between CMMC and NIST SP 800-171

CMMC is a vehicle the US Government is using to implement a tiered approach to audit contractor compliance with NIST SP 800-171, based on five different levels of maturity expectations. DoD contractors have been required to comply with NIST SP 800-171 since January 1, 2018.

The CMMC brings multiple discrete compliance processes (NIST SP 800-171, NIST SP 800-53, ISO 27001, ISO 27032, and AIA NAS9933) into one unified framework. DOD has plan to migrate to CMMC for identifying the cybersecurity readiness of the Defense Industrial Base (DIB).


The main objective of CMMC is to protect Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). If you are a defense contractor/ subcontractor, you have to make sure to implement the cybersecurity processes as per the CMMC level appropriate for your business establishment.

CMMC compliance is going to be mandatory for everyone within the DoD supply chain. If you are a part of it, and you want to be a part of it in the future, you have to achieve and maintain the level of security required for the appropriate CMMC level.

How Do We Help You?

Contractors in the defense sector have been receiving notices from their customers esp. the Prime contractors that the former need to submit a current DoD Assessment score in the DoD Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS). Unless the contractors provide this score in the SPRS, they would not be eligible to receive any future contracts.

In addition, those contractors need to come up with an action plan to achieve CMMC Level 1 to begin with and Level 3 subsequently.

We at CMIT Solutions of Anaheim West not only help you come up with a self-assessment score, but also develop a System Security Plan (SSP) that will put you firmly and confidently on the road to achieving CMMC Level 3.

We help you address all the requirements mandated by your customers and respond to all of their questions and concerns to their fullest satisfaction.

In addition to helping with the assessment, we have also been helping our customers comply with the CMMC requirements by deploying cyber-security solutions and writing security policy documents.

CMIT Solutions of Anaheim West helps you navigate through the new processes required for the CMMC compliance. We help you with the adoption of processes and best practices for the appropriate cybersecurity maturity level.

Why Trust CMIT Solutions of Anaheim West for Your CMMC Assessment & Compliance Audit?

We at CMIT Solutions of Anaheim West are your local cyber-security expert and well-versed with the requirements of NIST SP 800-171 standards and CMMC. Our team has CMMC-Registered Practitioners in our team who are in the best position to help you with the CMMC compliance.

Our team members are also seasoned Cybersecurity professionals who are Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), CompTIA Security+, and Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP). They have acted as the Security Officers for mid to enterprise level companies, and currently assist small and medium businesses with their compliance and regulatory needs for a wide range of compliance standards such as HIPAA, PCI-DSS, FINRA, DFARS & CMMC (levels 1-3), and full NIST 800-171 assessments

We have been helping numerous contractors in the defense sector successfully navigate the complicated maze of NIST 800-171 and CMMC compliance.


By helping them come up with self-assessment score as well as developing System Security Plan (SSP) customized for their organizations that will act as their roadmap to ultimately comply with CMMC level 3 requirements.

In addition to doing the assessment, we also help with the remediation. We help you comply with the CMMC appropriate level by deploying the best-of breed cybersecurity solutions and developing cybersecurity policies specific to your organization.

We have the needed expertise and certifications to ensure that as a defense contractor, you are adequately protecting Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) that reside on your systems and networks.

Contact us at (657) 230-7099 or at for a complimentary consultation on how to comply with CMMC.